GarGamer

A blog about tabletop gaming and other random things.

  • Micro-Blog

    02/16/09: Got a new job, starts today!
  • Blog Stats

    • 12,989 hits

Call of Cthulhu (6th Edition) – CC

Posted by paradisio on February 23, 2008

Alright, got a little off track with the last one, so back to your regularly scheduled program. Next up is Call of Cthulhu, the classic horror roleplaying based on HP Lovecrafts writings. This is the BRP system version by Chaosium Inc, and this would be the 6th revision (and current I believe.) As a player you play an investigator fighting of discovering sanity-blasting horrors from beyond.

Anyways, the game supports 3 eras of play, although it would be easy to modify for others; the 1890s, the 1920s and the now. I’ll be using the 1920s for this character, since that is the version I always think of for CoC.

First we have our characteristics, which are determined randomly with some D6 rolls or are secondary characteristics based off the primary ones. This determines the investigators skeleton.

Strength: 14
Constitution: 14
Power: 12
Dexterity: 10
Appearance: 5
Size: 12
Intelligence: 13
Education: 10
Sanity: 60
Idea: 65
Luck: 60
Know: 50
Damage Bonus: +1D4

Pretty standard attribute stuff except a couple. Power is force of will (willpower), Education is simply how educated you are (is in what grade of education you have accomplished), Size is a combination of height and weight, and Sanity are the points you’ll lose if you encounter something terrible. Idea, Luck and Know are characteristics rolls; Idea is for interpreting hunches and interpreting the obvious, Luck is the ability to be in the right place at the right time, and Know is quite simply if you know something or not. Damage bonus is just a bonus to melee combat from my strength and size put together.

In addition there are a couple of other things;

99-Cthulhu Mythos: 99 (which is when your investigator learns sinister magic himself, and will permanently impact your characters sanity.)
Hit Points: 13
Magic Points: 12

Anyways, next is my yearly income and property, my character makes $4500 a year and and has property and other assets of $22500. Breaking that down, he has $2250 in the bank, $2250 in stocks and bonds which she could get access to; the remaining $18000 is in old books or a house or whatever.

Next is selecting an occupation, I could customize my own, but this is my first time making a character, so I’ll stick with one of the basic careers. Given my characters ugly mug and not even getting through high school I’ll go with Artist. This gives me the following skill:

Art (05%)
Craft (05%)
Fast Talk (05%)
History (20%)
Photography (10%)
Psychology (05%)
Spot Hidden (25%)
And finally a skill of my choice, I’ll take Natural History (10%)
The number after the skill is the base chance (% of success) for using the skill. Now I get Edu x 20 points to allocate to those skills at a 1:1% basis, so that gives me 200 points to spend on my occupational skills. So here is what it looks like after:

Art (75%)
Craft (45%)
Fast Talk (25%)
History (40%)
Photography (40%)
Psychology (15%)
Spot Hidden (25%)
Natural History (20%)

After that I have Int x 10 points to be spent on anything, except Cthulhu Mythos. So that gives me 130 additional points, I’m pretty happy with my Occupational skills so I spent the 130 points on new skills, giving me the following.

Anthropology (41%)
Bargain (35%)
Climb (50%)
Drive Automobile (30%)
Handgun (40%)
Library Use (45%)

Of course those include the base rates again. So basically I have a very artsy-fartsy guy who paints natural environments mostly and studies art history on the side.

The game makes lite of equipment for the most part and hand waves most stuff people would normally have besides weapons. While my character is proficient with handguns, I don’t imagine him toting one around with him, so he starts with basically no equipment.

The last stuff is basically background/details/age; that’s it really. It seems a bit long here, but it’s actually one of the fastest games for character creation I have played. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

 
