GarGamer

A blog about tabletop gaming and other random things.

  • Micro-Blog

    02/16/09: Got a new job, starts today!
  • Blog Stats

    • 12,846 hits

Dungeons and Dragons 4E – CC

Posted by paradisio on July 1, 2008

Well, here we go, the new edition of Dungeons & Dragons and here is my Character Creation walkthrough for it.

Step 1. Race

The game has for the most part the standard D&D races with a couple of exceptions. Gnome and Half-Orc are no longer primary races, Gnome is in the Monster Manual (with player stats), while Half-Orc is nowhere to be seen. Replacing them is the Tiefling and Dragonborn.

Because I hardly ever make them, I’m going to pick halfling as my Race. They get a bonus to Dexterity and Charisma, are smalll, and make good Rogues for the most part.

Step 2. Class

Like the races available, classes are mostly standard with a few exceptions. Bard, Sorcerer, Barbarian, Druid and Monk are not in the core book. The only new core class is the Warlock and Warlord. A lot of people have been disappointed by this, but with the amount of space it takes for each class in the core book now, I can’t really fault wizards for it. The wizard is a lot like the old sorcerer anyways, and the warlock is a mild replacement for a blaster sorcerer. Warlord is a fair replacement for Bard, as is Cleric for Druid. The barbarian can simply be replicated with a fighter with a specific magic weapon. Unfortunately, there are really no unarmed combat feats, so the monk is probably the most out of luck.

I’m going to choose Warlock as my class instead of the typical rogue for halfling.

Step 3. Ability Scores

Charisma, Consitution and Intelligence are listed as the main statistics for warlock.

The game uses the standard D20 stats (str, dex, con, int, wis, cha) and has a few different methods of generating ability scores. Rolling now seems relegated to the last option, with an array being first and a point buy being second. Because I’ve actually never used an array, I’ll do so (but just this once). It actually has a fairly good array: 16, 14, 13, 12, 11, 10. I place my stats as follows (this includes racial modifiers).

Str- 10
Dex- 14 (+2)
Con- 14 (+2)
Int- 13 (+1)
Wis- 11
Cha- 18 (+4)

Step 4. Skills

I simply select skill from my class list that I have trained. I pick Thievery, Arcana, Bluff, and Streetwise. I think these all match pretty well for a Halfling Warlock. Like SWSE, there is no longer skill ‘ranks’ you just pick skills you are trained in and you are better at them. My skill bonus with these skills, based off my level, attributes, training and racial modifier is as follows:
Thievery +9
Arcana +6
Bluff +9
Streetwise +9

Step 5. Feats

As a Halfling I only have one feat of my choice to start off with. I take Improved Misty Step, which will let me teleport farther with one of my Warlock abilities.

Step 6. Powers

Most classes have a more flexible choice in their powers they get when starting out. For the warlock, some of their starting powers are determined by their pact. Basically Warlocks have made a contract with some supernatural entity, be it dark magic, devils, or ancient fey. For this character I select the Fey Pact.

The fey pack gives me the Eyebite power in addition to the Eldritch Blast power all warlocks receieve. In addition I get an ability called Misty Step which lets me teleport 3 squares (modified to 5 from my feat) when a creature I have cursed is rendered unconscious (or dead). I have several other abilities as well: Prime Shot (+1 to hit target when you are closest), Shadow Walk (move and become concealed), and of course, the Warlock’s Curse (which lets you do extra damage to the cursed target).

Those other powers are at-will, meaning I can use them infintitely, but I also select one Encounter Power and one Daily Powers. These should be fairly self explanatory, I can use the Daily once per day and the Encounter once per fight. I don’t have to, but I choose the powers associated with the Fey Pact, since they typically do extra stuff since I have that pact. My encounter power is Withfire, which does good damage and gives the opponent a penalty to hit. My daily power is Curse of the Dark Dream which does good damage and lets me move the opponent.

In addition to these, I get one racial power. For halflings this power is called Second Chance, which lets me force an enemy to reroll an attack that hit me.

Step 7. Equipment

I simply have 100gp to spend on equipment. As a warlock I can use Cloth or Leather armor and can use simple melee and ranged weapons. I pick the following equipment:

Basic Clothing
Leather Armor
Sickle
Implement – Rod
Standard Adventurer’s Kit
Thieves’ Tools

That leaves me with 26gp for me to save.

Step 8. Fill in the Numbers

I’m not going to go into the details, but you simply follow some simple formulas for generating all your numbers, here is what I end up with.

Initiative +2
Passive Insight/Perception: 10

Hit Points: 26
Bloodied: 13
Healing Surges/day: 8
Healing Surge: 6

AC: 14 = 10+2+2
Fortitude Defense: 12 = 10+2
Reflex Defense: 13 = 10+2+1
Will Defense: 15 = 10+4+1

Basic Attack: Sickle +2, 1d6 damage
Basic – Eldritch Blast: Ranged +4 vs. Reflex, 1d10+4 damage
Eyebite: Ranged +4 vs. Will, 1d6+4 psychic damage and become invisible to target.
Witchfire: +4 vs. Reflex, 2d6+4 damage and the target takes -3 to attacks
Curse of the Dark Dream: +4 vs. Will, 3d8+4 psychic damage, and can slide target 3 squares

And that’s it, all in all, I found making a character much simpler and faster than previous editions.

Leave a Reply

 
