GarGamer

A blog about tabletop gaming and other random things.

  • Micro-Blog

    02/16/09: Got a new job, starts today!
  • Blog Stats

    • 12,846 hits

Starting a homebrew D&D 4.0 game

Posted by paradisio on April 18, 2009

Well, with my upcoming Dungeons & Dragons 4th Edition game staring in a few weeks-month, I surveyeed my player base for some general details and to a bit of my surprise they said they would prefer a homebrew setting over well, a published one (the only ‘official’ option being Forgotten Realms currently). This has stirred up some old feelings, and I myself have vastly preferred homebrew settings in the past over official ones, and in general they hold my interest much better and let me feel like I have a further reach in creativity while staying true to the original premise.

Regardless, I prodded the group for a few details about this supposed setting and they give me a couple of things to work with so far:
-Use Eberron as a guideline for how far to stretch the ‘feel’ of the game
-Related to the first point, some seemed interested in Steampunk ideas, something which my typical players abhor
-The group wanted the game mostly to be based around a single region where they could develop relationships and learn the lay of the land
-Group doesn’t want resource management to be a big issue (IE they don’t want to fight for their daily break or have bone weapons like darksun)
-Game should accomodate standard stuff for the most part (no low/no magic game)
-They are okay with custom races/classes/etc.
-Can change cosmology
-Want a mix of adventure types, not a ton of dungeon crawling/room to room stuff.

Additionally, one player was interested in have some sort of benefit/hindrance system for roleplaying. I’m really not sure how to implement such a thing and not have it come out rediculously overpowered like the 3.5 variant (take a pointless negative for a free feat).

Mostly I’m looking for the RPG communities input on where to start or any specific ideas. I’ve done homebrew settings before, but they were pretty much 100% off the cuff, and I would like to do something a bit more… well, inspiring and well thought out this time. Have any great ideas, guides, etc that would help me out? Post ’em! I would really appreciate it. I’ll keep posting as I develop.

One Response to “Starting a homebrew D&D 4.0 game”

  1. Swordgleam said

    If you want a pretty simple system to encourage roleplaying, I suggest using plot points. Players get them for roleplaying, and can use them to be awesome – things like standing up from unconscious to use an expended daily on the big bad, or swing across the chasm and grab their falling buddy without actually being trained in acrobatics.

Leave a Reply

 
